top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

Spindel: The hottest, must-have Winter item

Forget what you think you know about laundry because your life is about to change after reading my review on the Spindel.



In Winter, the biggest thing that gets me down is not the cold weather. It is the fact that I have wet washing hanging from every possible corner, from the burglar bars to my child's plastic slide in an effort to dry it.


Spindel contacted me and asked me if I'd like to review their dryer. I thought perhaps this was a trick question and tried to hold back my enthusiasm and remain professional with my reply when all I wanted to do was type YES PLEASE!


Here we are, almost two months later, and I can honestly say that the Spindel has saved my life. Literally. It has shaved hours off doing the laundry and allows me to do more important things!


My first concern: electricity. I've never had a tumble-dryer because of the amount of electricity is uses! The good news is that the Spindel is highly energy efficient!


It is important to note that the Spindel is NOT a tumble-dryer. So while your laundry will be significantly 'less wet', it will still need some drying time outside. The exciting thing is that after much experimenting, I noticed that the Spindel really cut down on the required drying time, especially in Winter when clothes get that horrible damp smell when they've been out drying for too long.



The Spindel spins at double the speed of most washing machines at 2800rpm which removes a lot of the remaining moisture - and in just 3 minutes. You can feel the clothes are 'dryer' when you take them out of the Spindel and the drying time is shortened greatly..


WHY WE LOVE THE SPINDEL:


1) It definitely dries the clothes faster. I conducted several experiments and each time the clothes dried quicker after being in the Spindel.


2) Price-wise, it is much cheaper than a tumble-dryer at just R2599 for the 6kg machine AND requires less energy to run meaning a double saving.


3) The amount of water that is removed from your laundry is quite something. I was actually gobsmacked at how much moisture wet clothes actually hold! You will be amazed. The water is collected in a bowl at the bottom.


4) It is easy to store and great for small spaces. It isn't bulky like a traditional tumble dryer.


THINGS WE DISCOVERED WHILST USING THE SPINDEL:

  • Don't try and 'break the law' and overload it. I did it once, and it sounded like a Boeing 747 was coming in for landing.

  • Don't leave the machine unattended, as the machine spins incredibly quickly and can sometimes be unstable as it takes off.

  • Use a towel or large T-shirt to "tuck" the clothing in so that no loose items like socks or underwear can fly up and get stuck in the drum.


I personally highly recommend the Spindel! I use mine every single time I do the laundry.


STOCKISTS:





bottom of page