top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

The decade past


2010 to 2020. A decade.

It began as a wife, hopeful and excited for the future with my husband. Shortly after we were married, he was heavily misdiagnosed and passed away from a brain tumour just two weeks after being admitted to hospital. I was broken, I thought I would never survive and that my life was over. 

I picked up the pieces slowly. I did many GriefShare courses. I went to counseling. I learnt how amazing my friends and family are. I had great support.

After finding myself single again after being in a relationship for 8 years, I struggled to find myself. I battled with being alone. 

I decided to travel. It was then that I learnt my own strength and independence. I traveled to Colorado, New York, Thailand, Singapore, United Kingdom, Mozambique and Zimbabwe. I quickly learnt how big the world is and how wonderful it is to explore it. 

I moved a lot. I had to pack up my home and put it into storage. I had to feel the heartbreak of unpacking those stored items when I later moved into my own apartment. I slowly learnt to live again. I went out with friends, painted my walls pink and adopted two cats.

As life was looking up, I was assaulted. I felt like I’d never be able to heal from this. But I did. Again, I found the strength to rise up above my circumstances.

I threw myself into work, I slowly grew into different leadership positions. I loved being involved in decision making at my school. I enjoyed the challenges.

I dated. Some were idiots, some taught me valuable life lessons. 

I met Duron and fell in love instantly. After a year, we were engaged. The following year, married. Following year: house and baby. Duron put me back together again. 

I’ve ended the decade feeling at peace with all that has been thrown at me. I have a husband who understands me, who makes me laugh and has the gentlest soul. I am the mother I always wanted to be, I prayed for Nunu and he is everything I could have wished and more. 

This decade has shown me that life is short, but it is also so very beautiful. Each moment is precious, nothing is for certain and that love is everything. 


bottom of page