top of page
Search
  • Nicole Wright

Camping for Dummies


So we've done something really stupid. We have agreed to go camping with friends in December. We have never been camping together. No, I don't mean with Nunu. I mean even just the two of us - Duron and Nicole. In our 6 years of being together, I have avoided this subject entirely because I don't care for blow up mattresses, sandy sheets and hot-boxing myself in a tiny dome-shaped canvas.

Problem 1: We don't have a tent. As we don't see this camping trip going terribly well, we don't want to invest in an expensive tent that will end up collecting dust in the darkest corner of our garage. My friend has kindly lent us his. It apparently has a tear in it, but he assures me that he has successfully taped the torn bits together and should it rain, we will only get mildly wet.

Problem 2: A child that doesn't listen very well. I know, I know. This is a problem at home too and not strictly connected only to camping. But at home I have things like fences and reward charts and stickers. In the middle of a campsite, I have nothing. I know his friends will be bringing their bicycles which I think is a ludicrous idea because my child will be half way down the mountain's edge before I catch him, even if I run at my fastest speed and have my running shoes on.

Problem 3: Well... like everything. I can't specifically point out anymore problems. So I googled like a fool.

Here are 19 Tips for Camping with Kids... taken straight from parents.com with my own personal comments alongside...

New at This? Camp Like a Champ

Stick to these do’s and don’ts when camping with young kids for the first time.

Don’t rough it. Car camping, in which you drive up to your campsite, is the way to go.

Too late to turn back now. We're staying in a tent. We're roughing it. Send help.

Plan ahead. Campgrounds, especially those in national and state parks, fill up quickly. Best to book six to nine months in advance.

We booked maybe a month in advance, so that must count for something? The resort we are staying at seems really nice too.

Conduct a test run. Try sleeping in a tent in the backyard first, suggests Vicki Wright, Girl Scouts of the USA Outdoor Initiative Lead. Take notes as you think of things you’ll need on a full-blown trip.

I prefer living on the edge and in ignorant bliss. I rather not know what I'm in for because I might chicken out before we even leave.

Rent a tent. Or borrow one instead, advises Wright. Public parks often have programs to lend camping equipment. You can also rent gear from websites like OutdoorsGeek.com.

Well well, not so useless after all. Look at us scoring points here by borrowing a tent!

Don’t overpack. Most people bring too many clothes, says Toby O’Rourke, of Kampgrounds of America. Leave the “just-in-case” items at home and know that you can re-wear things.

Strongly disagree. I rather be prepared for everything. There's a reason I traded my gorgeous little BMW for the bigger, mommy SUV. I am packing everything in it.

But do pack for all kinds of weather. Even if it’s hot during the day, the evenings can be cool—so bring an extra layer or fleece pullover/pants for nighttime, suggests Tom Kimmet, general merchandising manager at REI. Don’t neglect rain gear!

Great. Camping. Rain. Mud. My excitement spilleth over.

Unpack and set up camp while you still have light. Get the kids involved with a chore, like gathering kindling. Set up the tent first. Then, if you’re planning to cook over a fire, get it going right away.

Fab, great tip. Don't try and assemble a tent in the dark. Presumably the men will start the fire... which means only one thing... it will start later in the day after much nagging from the ladies.

Don’t be overambitious on Night 1. If you’re arriving at the end of the day, plan a super-simple meal.

A bag of chips and a slab of chocolate. Fab. And wine for mommy.

Stick to your usual routine as much as possible, especially with young kids. Follow the same bedtime rituals and nap schedule to ensure a good (okay, a decent) night’s sleep.

Sure, completely do-able! Oh wait... ablution blocks, blow up mattresses, no walls, noise from the neighbouring tents...

Don’t unpack your devices. Leave the tablets at home, dig out your digital camera (or forgo pics), and stash your smartphones in the car for emergencies.

Negative. Our first camping trip! I'll be recording it all.

Also, there only seems to be 10 points here so perhaps the author even realised that we are doomed and that camping with a three year old is a fool's errand.

I received many helpful tips from some of my followers! Some of these included:

@joanita_new_life Mozzie repellent and Burnshield

@angeliquepottie Big black crates - 1 for food, 1 for camping stuff and 1 for Nunu's toys and activities. A gas stove. Keep quiet while husband attempts to pitch the tent (love this one)

@ghawwagamieldien_masoet Lots of sunblock, toys, mountain bike, nice size bucket to bath Nunu in.

@zeenat_carrim Don't do it! Haha! Too late now, girl!!!!

@elanabotha13 Bring a mini castle tent to keep them in one spot and can play inside

@bronnyndjosh Take a blanket to put under your mattress to help with uncomfortable stones or thorns. Take things you wouldn't think of like salt, pepper and tomato sauce. Use paper plates (winning tip) and remember to take a small thing of dishwashing liquid. Invest in a really good flask for a hot beverage first thing in the morning.


bottom of page