top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

Birthday parties and smashing gender stereotypes


I am currently teaching my Grade Sevens about the gender roles that society places upon us. From the moment we know that we are expecting a baby, we are pushed into a societal box that expects our girls to be in pink and our boys to be in blue.

My son loves Frozen. He sings Let it Go and he has an Elsa and an Anna doll. He wanted a Frozen party. How hypocritical of me if I didn't throw him a Frozen bash based purely on the fact that he’s a boy, when I’m busy preaching to the Grade Sevens about breaking the stereotypes based on gender roles.

The eyebrows may be raised, the lips might be pursed, but seriously! We are living in the 21st century and there is no room for old fashioned stereotyping. I am raising a boy who can play with both 'girl' and 'boy' classified toys. Cars, fab. Transformers, great! Barbies - go for it my boy! 

So! Frozen party for the win!

Visit my Pinterest board here for ideas and links. 

We had an amazing morning celebrating at his little school this morning with purple and blue swirl cupcakes and Olaf party boxes!


bottom of page