top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

My favourite skincare products


I need products that work. As a full time working mom, time is of the essence and I need to see the results that skincare products claim to achieve what’s on their labels.  

Let me save you the stress (and money) of testing different skincare products. Here are my top picks. Please can I also stress the importance that these products are all anti-cruelty, all natural and paraben free. Not only are the highest quality ingredients used, but you are also treating your skin to the very best that is on offer. 

Sometimes in SA, we feel that the more we pay, or the overseas “branded” products are going to work the best, while we are sitting on a literal goldmine of rich indigenous vegetation that offers some of the best ingredients for skincare worldwide. Never has my skin felt more supple, moisturized and smooth. My wrinkles have definitely softened and I’ve been rocking no foundation most weekends which I’ve never had the confidence to do.

1. BAOCARE TISSUE OIL

This oil is deeply nourishing and is great on dry skin. I use this twice a week on my face when it needs that extra moisture. 

Baocare Tissue Oil - R159. Shop here.

2. NATURALS BEAUTY ESSENTIAL COLLECTION GEL FACE CLEANSER AND NIGHT CREAM

I have been using the face cleanser and night cream regularly for the past three weeks and my skin definitely feels more supple and firm. The products smell just like you’re in a spa and leave you feeling relaxed after a stressful day. I am thoroughly enjoying using this skincare collection and can highly recommend it. 

The prices are also extremely reasonable! The Essential Collection Gel Face Wash - R105 The EssentialCollection Night Cream - R135. Shop here.

3. MOOGOO COFFEE SCRUB

I like to exfoliate at least once a week and this is my current go-to scrub. It smells amazing (espresso hmmm) and gently scrubs away dead skin cells. My skin feels softer and smoother after using it. 

Although NOT produced in South Africa (produced in Australia) I had to add it to the list as it is all natural and is one of my faves. Moogoo Coffee Scrub - R449. Shop here. 

4. HEART TREE EYE OIL

This is honestly the King of Eye Oils. I’ve tried many different oils promising younger eyes, less defined lines and a refreshed appearance but this one delivers. One tiny drop is all you need - the bottle will last you a very long time. 

 I’ve had many people comment on how rejuventated I look since using this eye oil (which is somewhat near impossible with a teething toddler). Heart Tree Anti - Ageing Eye Oil - R220. Shop here.

5. BEAUTY AND THE BEARD FACE MASK

Sadly there’s no picture of this little mask in a bottle because I FINISHED it! Yep, it’s all gone and I need to get a new one. This clay mask works wonders on tired, dull skin.


bottom of page