top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

Wacky Wine Weekend


This past weekend I was sent on a mission: to prove that the Wacky Wine Weekend in Robertson provides fun and entertainment for the whole family.  

I was sceptical. Hubby had been before (in his wild youth, with no nagging wife or tired toddler to slow him down) and wasn’t convinced this was somewhere to take a one year old. I carefully planned our itinerary by studying the map of participating wine farms and the events/entertainment they had on offer. It’s actually rather exciting planning your trip! Wacky Wine tickets are R200. This includes your “passport” which consists of little tear-off vouchers and a tasting glass. At each wine farm, you exchange vouchers for tastings. You can choose which wine farms you want to visit using the map on the website. I studied what was on offer according to the program and was pleasantly surprised at how much was available for the kids! (Even Hubby was surprised - he was convinced this was a new addition to past Wacky Wine Weekends but I think he was just too excited to be living his best life as a bachelor on a rough weekend with the boys to notice things like bouncy castles and jungle gyms). Farms we visited: Excelsior Wine Farm This was our first stop and I must admit, I felt quite overwhelmed as we pulled up as it was bustling with over-eager twenty somethings keen to use all 6 tasting vouchers as quickly as they could. A blending experience had been organised for me by the lovely PR lady for Wacky Wine, so Hubby entertained Nunu on the grass while I headed into the busy tent. I enjoyed trying my hand at creating a fabulous red wine blend. Hopefully it is drinkable!

Kids could enjoy cart racing at this venue. The restaurant looked like the best place to be, as it overlooked the river and seemed very relaxed. Paul Renée MCC This wine farm is truly beautiful and catered well for the kiddies. The spectacularly green lawns and jumping castle were a definite hit with Nunu. There were a few food trucks on offer, as well as some homemade nibbles. The bubbly on offer was either Brut or rosè. I tried the Brut twice. It was that good. Rooiberg This farm was probably my favourite that we visited during the Wacky Wine Weekend. Firstly, you have to have a family shot with the big red chair. If you are brave enough, climb to the top and take an exciting photo from there! I was too nervous to take Nunu to the top because he’s so active at the moment he’d probably have crashed through the safety rail and plunged down into the gravel below. The play area here is fab! I can picture us going back here for a stunning lunch while Nunu can play. There was also a jumping castle and a tent filled with delicious treats, clothing items and more. Bon Cap Warning: gravel road ahead. Hubby and I panicked at one stage that we had taken the wrong turn and were headed for the middle of nowhere. However, there are some reassuring signs along the dusty path to curb your fears. We arrived at Bon Cap and were made to feel incredibly welcome. There is a superb outdoor play area for the kids and some loud chickens to add to the ambience of life on a working farm.

We enjoyed a delicious traditional South African lunch buffet with culinary delights such as kudu steaks and babotie. My goals for next year are to try and visit more wine farms. Now that I have an idea of how it works, I’m excited to plan better and make sure that I visit all the kid-friendly farms. The whole weekend is so much fun and it’s great for the family to get out and enjoy what the Robertson Wine Valley has on offer. We will be back!



bottom of page