top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

#teacherlife


Yes, we are over worked, under paid and often under appreciated. We are told we work half day jobs and get far too many holidays. Our administrative responsibilities seem to grow endlessly and the curriculum expectations multiply daily. 

BUT for me, I cannot imagine NOT being a teacher. It is in my DNA (quite literally. My mom and grandmother were both teachers and now I'm married to a Phys Ed teacher...)  In honour of World Teachers Day, here are 7 reasons why I love teaching:

1. No day is ever the same when dealing with 30 different personalities. Each day comes with its own challenges and adventures.

2. You are "famous". Every where you go you are greeted as if a celebrity, especially at the local park or mall.

3. I am unable to express the joy and fulfillment you feel when explaining a concept and a child finally "gets it".

4. The love your class has for you, and your love for them. You regard them as "your kids".

5. You love coming to work because it's a part of who you are. 

6. The warm feeling you get when a child writes you a note, stating that you are their world and how much you mean to them.

7. Watching a child grow within the year, and being a part of their life, is so rewarding and magical.

Happy World Teachers' Day! Know that you are loved and appreciated. 



bottom of page