top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

Confessions of a tired mom


Am I the only guilty one?

Sometimes when I hear Nunu cry at night, I kick my husband in the shins and then roll over and pretend I'm asleep so that he goes to tend to the issue.

Once I accidentally threw a dirty nappy in the laundry basket and clothes in the bin. Oops.

The moment I get home from work, I get into my pyjamas and pour myself a glass of wine.

Washing my hair is possibly the worst of all hygiene requirements because it just takes so much time and effort. First I have to shampoo. Then condition. Then comb. Then blowdry. Then brush. And even possibly straighten. So sometimes... sometimes... here goes... I put baby powder in my hair so I only have to wash every second day. (... ok or third....)

Some nights I bath with Nunu and tell my husband it's to "save water" during Cape Town's water restrictions. But really, it's so I can get into bed earlier.

Nunu does not have a playpen. He has a cardboard box. This is quite possibly my best discovery to date. I toss in some toys and have a moment to myself. He loves it.

We co-sleep. And by co-sleep, I mean we all share a bed with Nunu plonked in the middle. (The benefits of co-sleeping to be in a future blog).

I haven't shaved my legs in a month. It looks like I'm transitioning from woman to mohair blanket. 

I never ever buy clothes for myself anymore. I am obsessed with anything baby sized and convince myself that I am "stocking his summer wardrobe"... when it's still the middle of winter.

And on that note, I am addicted to Wish. I sit trawling the app for free stuff where I only have to pay for shipping. To date I have ordered a Christmas outfit for Nunu, a random pink cooler box and an inflatable palm tree cooldrink holder for the pool (side note- we don't have a pool). 

Feel free to comment with some of your mom confessions!


bottom of page