top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

Cottage Pie: Recipe for baby food


I found this amazing cottage pie recipe on Pinterest and thought I would share it with you. It's packed full of protein and vitamins. 

I added my own twist and used butternut instead of potato.

250g lean beef mince R25 - Pick n Pay

500g butternut R20 - Woolworths

500g carrots R8 - Pick n Pay

250g peas (I used frozen) R10 - Pick n Pay

Total cost: R63 (Makes x12 100ml meals. Works out to R5.25 per meal)

First I steamed all of the veg (Woolworths, your steamed veg in packets is my fave)

I cooked the mince in a little water, I didn't want to use oil.

Add all of the mince and vegetables to a large pot. Don't you think the colours look awesome? This is such a great winter dish- for babies and adults alike. In fact, Husband doesn't know this yet but we are having cottage pie too... if he's lucky I won't purée his!

I found these AMAZING baby food freezer cubes ! They hold 100ml and are perfect for freezing baby meals! AND BONUS- I am giving one 6 block tray away on my Facebook page this week! 

I used my Russell Hobbs stick blender to blitz all the food together. I went slightly chunkier this time, as Nunu is now 8 months and we are working on giving him more textured food.

I was able to make 12 meals.



bottom of page