top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

I'm a hot mess


When, might you ask, did I realize that I was a hot mess? It may have been when Husband ran his hand seductively along my leg and gasped in shock when I told him that I wasn't wearing woolen socks and that was indeed my winter growth. 

It also could've been when I had to take my shoes off at the hospital last week and almost died of embarrassment when I saw my chipped pink nail varnish on my toe nails (chipped is being kind....)

Hot mess confession number 3... when I couldn't remember when last I went for my hair to be highlighted and a child in my class asked me if I was going for the ombré look.

Being a mom is HARD. You sacrifice A LOT. Part of that sacrifice is the time (and money) you used to spend on yourself. I'm lucky to have a supportive husband and I STILL don't have time to make myself look half presentable. 

One of my best friends is a single mom. I ask myself daily HOW THE HELL SHE COPES?!?! I honestly have so much respect for single moms. Especially single moms who manage to remember to brush their teeth and put in a pair of earrings.

I decided this weekend that ENOUGH WAS ENOUGH. I wasn't doing it for my husband, or anyone else for that matter. I did it for ME. I booked myself an eyelash extension appointment. And typically... I felt GUILTY. How DARE I spend time on my own? How DARE I indulge in such luxuries?

BUT... I took a deep breath and realized the following. Motherhood is rough. You worry continually. I'm 32 and my own mother still worries about me. I think the worry begins at conception when you worry about a million different things while pregnant. We worry about the birth and how baby would arrive. We will still worry when our child is 32 and arrives with black roots and her pyjama top on backwards to family dinner night (sorry Mom). Time spent on YOU is good. Whether you rely on a nanny, husband, partner, parents, babysitter, you need time to remember who you are as a person, so that you can be the best mother possible to your kiddo. 



bottom of page