top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

Business opportunity?


So, my husband is concerned as I seem to be spending a LOT of time in the kitchen recently. Problem is, I'm not creating glorious dishes for adult consumption. I'm boiling and steaming things and then blending them to death. That's right. I'm a changed woman. I now make baby food.

This evening, while our frozen chicken pieces, frozen wedges and frozen vegetables baked away in the oven, I happened upon some left over fruit in the fridge. Before hubby could blink an eye-lid, I'd peeled the apples and put them on the gas to boil. 

I then got out my newest best friend. My Russell Hobbs stick blender. Husband was not impressed, as last time I got a little too close to the pan I was using to blend and the noise was like the high pitched scream of a wounded cat. I promised I wouldn't wake the sleeping Nunu and got to blitzing. The recipe is below and might I just toot my own horn and say it is pretty darn tasty. Anyways, to cut a long story short, Nunu woke up and I wasn't popular.

X3 small apples

X2 bananas

Sprinkle of cinnamon

*you won't need any liquid for this to purée

Peel, core and cut the apples. Boil until soft.

Toss in the banana.

Use beloved stick blender and blitz until desired consistency. 

Sprinkle in some cinnamon (recommended only after 6 months and not for babies just starting solids!)

I use silicone ice trays to freeze. Please read my previous blog entry about how to defrost your baby food correctly. 


bottom of page