top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

Making baby mush


So Nunu finally came home on Friday from the hospital. I swore I'd NEVER make baby food again (I tried it once. What a waste of energy. Kitchen was totalled and the blender almost burnt out). But with Nunu on the mend, I thought I'd try it out again.

I went to Checkers and bought the following goodies:

Total cost: R74.98

I'm still not convinced making your own food is cheaper than buying Purity. And YES, I am one of "those" terrible moms whose child thrives on Purity and Rhodes Squish. We are big fans. 

Anyways, it took me over an HOUR. Here's my recipe-

3 chicken fillets

500g butternut

250g sweet potato

200g carrots

200g broccoli 

Water - just keep adding until you get the consistency you desire!

First I boiled all of of the chicken fillets, while I steamed all of the veg. When everything was cooked, I first blitzed the chicken in the blender and then added the vegetable and blitzed those. Blender fought a good fight, it didn't burn out despite the smell of smoke being emitted from the engine...

I made up 60ml meals, as this usually is his lunch and he gets fruit for dessert.

I was able to make 27 meals! Not bad! And I begrudgingly admit it is cheaper.... works out to R2.70 a meal.

These frozen meals can last up to 8 weeks in the freezer. Always defrost them either in the fridge overnight (never at room temperature) or in the microwave. 

Another tip I picked up:

Nunu is just starting to drink juice. I definitely don't want him drinking a whole sugary fruit juice, so I bought a small 250ml and have frozen it into ice blocks. That way he gets a little flavor with his water, but not too much sugar!


bottom of page