top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

Back to work blues...


Before Nunu, I envisaged myself as a career woman, balancing it all: work, husband, baby, friends and more. What a joke. I can barely balance having a shower and a cup of coffee these days before noon. Work has pounced upon me and I have just over a week of maternity leave left. Don't get me wrong, I love my job. I feel it's an important part of who I am too. I also don't know if I would cope as a stay at home mom, but I don't have the luxury to test it out!

I have loved being on maternity leave and I can honestly say I have made the most of it! I've spent a ridiculous amount of money on great lunches with friends, I've visited beaches and parks, I've joined a mom's group, taken Nunu for long walks in his pram and I've participated in Adventure Club. I've played with Nunu, introduced new toys, done tummy time and addictively searched Pinterest for new ideas to try.

I am heartbroken about going back to work. I really don't want to leave Nunu with someone that isn't me. BUT- I have to remember- my career is also part of who I am. It is a job that I pride myself in and feel it is my calling despite it being hard to leave my child. I have also found him the best possible daymom where I know he will be in excellent hands.

Nothing quite prepares you for returning to work but I will keep my chin up and be brave!


bottom of page