top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

Never wake a sleeping baby... whatevs!


So Nunu is growing beautifully and is so much more alert and aware of his surroundings. I've been a good mommy and gone to a mom's group and learnt all about how to play with my baby. But don't get me wrong... I am still very much winging it on the parenting front. The latest is my very bad parenting move: I WAKE A SLEEPING BABY. Oh yes, you heard me. I complete this sin on a nightly basis. Nunu has an excellent routine- 10, 2, 6. For those of you uneducated humans (i.e. Me up until recently), this means you feed at these times both AM and PM. Now I hate to brag (all moms do this though, so I'm going to) but Nunu pretty much sticks to this routine strictly. Literally, at 2am, I have an alarm set on my phone. I go into his room and his eyes are open, waiting for that bottle of goodness. So at 10pm, much to many people's disgust, I wake him for a feed. YES. I WAKE A SLEEPING BABY. On my latest adventures, I have been advised by many (friends, his nurse, books and my friend Google) to drop this feed because at this age he should be sleeping through. YES. SLEEPING THROUGH. Imagine! An uninterrupted sleep from 6 to 6. I was so excited at the thought. Could this be real? I was assured by many (including Google) that this was definitely true. All you needed to do was give one huge feed at 6pm and like magic, they will sleep through. 

I did as I was told. I merrily closed my eyes at 9pm and fell blissfully asleep... only to be woken up by a screaming baby at 10:45 demanding to be fed. Ok great, I thought, maybe he will sleep after THIS particular bottle? No, we had tears again at 04:00. I know this sounds rather dramatic, and he slept for 5 hours between 11 and 4, but I prefer just waking up peacefully at 2am and giving him a feed and then he falls straight back to sleep. At 4am this morning he was quite keen to chat about life. 

My mother has kindly informed me that I never slept through as a baby or toddler and that maybe when Nunu is A TEENAGER he may sleep through... if I'm lucky. I sincerely hope she was joking. 

I bumped into another new mom and she was impressed that he was ONLY waking for one bottle.

So you know what? I'm going with my gut from now on. For now, the dream feed at 10pm and bottle at 2am are working for this tired mom. I think I'll reassess the situation when he starts on solids. He's healthy, he's growing and he's happy!

bottom of page