top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

Sleep deprivation


How do you know you are sleep deprived? I used to think a late night binge on a TV series would leave me with sleep deprivation, but according to the definition, it is when you repeatedly have less than the eight hours of sleep required for your body to function. So my understanding is, if you have a kid you're basically screwed.

For me, the most difficult challenge of motherhood has been the interrupted sleep and reduced slumber hours. Most weekends I would sleep in until 11am, surface for some food and then get back under the covers. All I can say is, my Nespresso machine is to date my most favourite purchase and is worth its weight in gold. Those aluminium tubes of heaven have kept me sane.I have heard countless times - "sleep when the baby sleeps". This is easier said than done. When do you actually have time to yourself then? When baby is awake, you're awake and busy feeding, changing and entertaining baby. When baby is asleep, I have time to do things like: wash, brush my teeth, use the toilet uninterrupted, eat. Basic necessities of life I used to take for granted...

Do what works for you! I am hardly someone to give advice, but I have really just gone with the flow. Some nights Nunu sleeps well and I function like a normal human being the next day. Other nights, he is up for most of it and I am like one of the zombies you see on my favourite TV show, the Walking Dead. Although this zombie is clutching her Nespresso in one hand and a bag of Chuckles from Woolworths in the other.

My favourite thing to do is join Nunu for his 2pm snooze. It doesn't always work out, but when it does, I feel like a new woman.

Good luck! And do what works for you. Even if its a 10/10 strength Nespresso pod the next morning.

bottom of page