top of page
Search
  • Hearts and Hiccups Blog

New Years vs Parenthood


I've never been a fan of New Years Eve. There is always so much pressure to have the best night of you life, when in fact it's probably going to be a mediocre evening of too much champagne and a headache the next morning. Added to this, it's my birthday on New Year's Day. When I was younger, it felt great having everyone there to celebrate the very first second of your birthday. However, with the numbers rising steadily towards 40, I approach the day with much angst and trepidation.

There are no other words I can use to describe my state for New Years this year, besides utter exhaustion. There was no partying for me this year. In fact, when ten o'clock hit and Nunu had his dream feed, I was desperate for bed but forced myself to stay awake until midnight. I made it! I even managed a few glasses of champagne. But overall if it was New Years vs Parenthood.... Parenthood won hands down.

Reflecting on 2016, I can honestly say it was one of the best in my life. I have my Darling Husband, who is my rock. Little Nunu was born. I am blessed with good family and friends. I cannot wait to see what 2017 has in store!

bottom of page